12 x 12–Favorite expressions theme

I had a hard time coming up with an expression I could translate into fabric!  I wanted to do “You can’t make a silk purse from a sow’s ear” and even had some purse fabric on hand.  But when I tried to make my sow’s ear from fleece (new purchase), I decided to look for an easier expression.  It’s a bit hard to see but I liked my op art idea for “Just Do It.”  You can see from the back, I did the first Nike logo backwards on my Heat n Bond 🙂

SAM_4708_2SAM_4709_2


Karen chose “Chill Out Dude” for her expression.

SAM_4710_2 SAM_4711_2


Sharyn depicts an expression her father used instead of curse words!

SAM_4705_2 SAM_4706_2 SAM_4707_2


Diane’s favorite expression is one everyone needs to remember.

SAM_4712_2 SAM_4713_2


Linda’s depiction of her favorite is so cute.  She even included some eggs!

SAM_4703_2 SAM_4704_2


Kathy also chose some chicken expressions.  Is her fabric perfect or what?

SAM_4692_2 SAM_4693_2


Melinda used real candy wrappers for her “Gimme Some Sugar.”   She claims they were not the easiest sewing she ever did.

SAM_4699_2SAM_4698_2


Vicki’s expression is from her wedding invitation which made for an elegant quilt.

SAM_4541_2SAM_4539_2


And Bonnie used some cute cow fabric as inspiration for her expressions.

SAM_4689_2 SAM_4690_2 SAM_4691_2


Only one theme to go!  Can hardly believe this 2-year project is drawing to a close.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in 12 x 12, applique, art quilts, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 12 x 12–Favorite expressions theme

  1. debmoyes says:

    Just do it, huh? I always think what I would do when you post these results….. My favorite quote is “Bloom where you are planted”. That would be a fun one to do.

  2. ali says:

    These are just great, Carol! There’s so much work, inspiration, and fun here! Thanks for posting them all. Two years…wow! Time flies–that would be a fun one to do!

  3. I’d have had a tough time trying to come up with an expression. You all did a great job.

  4. val s. says:

    Thanks for all the viewings, Qltng Ladies.

    The creativity, colors, and chuckles have been simply marvelous.

Leave a Reply

