Quilts as puzzles

Recently I was sharing my hobbies with a new acquaintance and he commented on how similar quilting is to jigsaw puzzles–both favorites of mine.  I had to agree since I had recently finished this fractured quilt and found it quite a brain teaser.  I used extra cuts for the backing.

DSC01703DSC01702
The one I’m working on now was even harder to get started correctly.  I finally cut a little window the size of one block and moved it around the diagram to see what I was supposed to be doing (just noticed window is not quite centered on a block in photo but you get the idea).  Finally got it going and am now ready to sew.

DSC01803

DSC01801

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in puzzles, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quilts as puzzles

  1. Lisa says:

    Very clever! I am going to steal your window idea. I always spend way to much time pondering if I am doing it right. Love your new “puzzle”!

  2. Of course, quilts as jigsaw puzzles – that explains why there’s often a piece missing in my quilts! Your quilts are gorgeous, looking forward to seeing the finished piece.

  3. Linda says:

    Haven’t returned to mine, but I will! Like a jigsaw puzzle, it’s addictive!

  4. Carol says:

    I love them both! That top one is totally reversible – the back is great – so simple and modern. Sort of Mondrianiesque 🙂

  5. Carol says:

    Mondrian not Mondriani

  6. Ruth Gilliland says:

    I think both these designs are beautiful. Your patterns just keep getting more dynamic and interesting. Quilts are like puzzles in a way – and other patterns as well. The quilt you are working on now reminds me of a stained glass window. I was recently at an exhibit of a 12th C Psalter (psalms and prayerbook) and Canterbury Cathedral stained glass windows. The borders on the psalter reminded me of quilt borders and, in some cases, the leaded panes of glass were reminiscent of quilts, as well. Check it out: http://www.getty.edu/art/exhibitions/canterbury/

Leave a Reply

