Quilt sale room report

I am happy to report I did sell the Radiant Nine Patch from my September 3 post so it is out of my house.

DSC00480

However, overall my first marketing attempt was a failure.  I put seven quilts in the sale and only moved one.  It’s not a huge deal because I am not trying to make a living selling quilts.  I have just started keeping the ones that were planned as donations because I rather like them.  As they were becoming a storage challenge, I thought someone else might appreciate them enough to buy them.  I guess it’s back to the drawing board to look for Plan B 🙂

I will show some of my favorites from the show soon.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilt sale room report

  1. That Plan B thing…we need to talk. After my last attempt to sell stuff, I read “The Quiltmaker’s Gift” and am happiest giving away what I make. Occasionally someone will place an order which I’ll happily take. We are so lucky to not have to rely on our skills, which are considerable, for a living!

  2. Lisa says:

    Congrats on your sale! I haven’t been lucky in this department either. Giving is the best!

  3. You sold a quilt – that means your first attempt at marketing was a success. Perhaps it wasn’t as big a success as you hoped, but that’s beside the point. The artists I’ve talked to said they expect to spend months of promotion for each sale, until they make a big enough name for themselves that they attract collectors. You’ve made a good start!

Leave a Reply

