12 x 12 catch up

I am caught up for our September theme (doors)!  Man, does that feel good.  I missed the last two meetings so I procrastinated making the quilts.  My Season theme idea is not my favorite but I did try two new (for me) techniques–stick-on crystals and couching.

DSC01654DSC01655

DSC01656
I really like the quilt I produced for the Idiom theme.  For my idiom, I chose “Snake in the Grass.”  I was going to make my snake more 3D but instead I used fusible batting behind the front side and Heat n Bond on the back side.  When I tried using a small satin stitch edge, it raveled more than expected so instead I shortened the “binding” stitch I have been using on these little quilts.  The grass also went through several evolutions but I’m very happy with the result.

DSC01674DSC01675

DSC01676In an effort to show more process (and there is a lot of it in these little art quilts), here are the evolution shots of my snake and my grass 🙂

DSC01698DSC01699

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in 12 x 12, art quilts, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 12 x 12 catch up

  1. Love how the snake crawls right off the piece. And thanks for the reminder about what a great technique couching is. ***sighing enviously at the thought of being caught up***

  2. How cute! I’m taking great comfort in your getting caught up. If other people can do it, maybe I can, too, someday.

  3. debmoyes says:

    I like the snake in the grass. Peter just came across a baby copperhead last week….. It’s making me a bit cautious around bushes and shrubby areas! I have been told there are a lot of snakes in these here parts. ;-D

Leave a Reply

