Radiant nine-patch

For the first time ever, I am going take some quilts to the “sale room” at QuiltFest 2013 and I realize I never posted about this quilt (which is on my sell list).  Last year when I was trying to decrease my stash, I ordered the book Radiant Sunshine and Shadow: 23 Quilts with Nine-patch Sparkle by Helen Frost and Catherine Skow and really enjoyed playing with the technique of color blending using 3 inch nine-patch blocks of two surrounding colors.  I picked three fabrics and started building from the middle.  I cut and sewed as I went along because I did not know how far my yardage would go.




The quilt finished at 57″ square.  I had one yard each of the light and medium fabrics and three yards of the dark but had to purchase some coordinating broadcloth to complete the backing and the binding.

I will report back on this first foray into marketing my wares.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in nine-patch, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Radiant nine-patch

  1. Carol says:

    Wow – it’s very complex looking. Great quilt – I know it will sell – I hope I get to see it before somebody snatches it off the sale table.

  2. How exciting! You have a lovely quilt to sell – good luck!

  3. That is a wonderful quilt! Great job with the colors and blending.

Leave a Reply

