Now what was I doing?

I have not been quilting… or blogging… or even reading the blogs I follow.  My apologies for the absence of comments where I usually leave them.  I have just been spending my spare time doing other things–exploring the wonderful parks and preserves around Jacksonville combined with geocaching which is sort of treasure hunting with a GPS device.  You can read about it at http://www.geocaching.com.  I also bought a bicycle a few weeks ago and have been riding on the beach which is heavenly.  Next up, exploring some of the nearby rail trails (abandoned rail lines which have been turned into recreational areas) by bicycle.

I did go into the sewing room a few days ago and wondered what I was doing when I went missing.  On my design wall is a D9P inspired by a quirky focus fabric.  (The solid blue makes more sense in person.)

DSC01428DSC01427


It looks a lot different than the initial blocks.  But while I’m confessing, I might as well show you the wrong road I started going down.  Even trying multiple arrangements, that red just did not work in larger chunks!  So, still loving my seam ripper 🙂  I’m thinking about adding a small red border–hopefully in 2013!

DSC01302

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in bicycling, geocaching, nine-patch, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now what was I doing?

  1. Carol says:

    Yes – the red is definitely better in small amounts. Do you have enough of that cool print for the backing? Or maybe a wide border with a small red inner border.

  2. Quilt looks good – glad you changed the red! Enjoy your cycling!!

  3. Geocaching is quite popular in this area. A fun and healthy hobby! But, I am glad to see you are still quilting, too.

  4. Lisa says:

    Good to see you back! oxox

  5. Auntie Em says:

    Glad to see a post from you. Sometimes you need to step away from the sewing machine and do other things. Geocaching sounds like fun.

  6. debmoyes says:

    Hello Stranger! I thought we’d lost you. Peter and I are in Greenville house hunting. I am SO glad to be done with Chicagoland!!!

Leave a Reply

