Some finishes

Four bindings finished and quilts laundered.  Woohoo!  Tumbler on the left started with over-cuts from Mourning Jules but what a different look.  I am naming this quilt “The Importance of Yellow!”  Tumbler on the right just made from scraps I cut when I have a 3.5″ strip of something left over.

DSC01307DSC01306


Kaleidoscope front and back…

DSC01312DSC01313


and fish quilt.  I am making another like this with color placement a little better planned.  When I sewed the strips on this first one I did not take into consideration that the long strips needed to alternate direction vertically and horizontally every other block.  I just picked border colors I liked with each fish patch.  I’m taking a more planned approach with the next one.  However, this one is still colorful and happy and I love the striped binding.

DSC01314DSC01315

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in community service quilts, fish quilts, kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some finishes

  1. All lovely! And where are these four going?

  2. liz says:

    I am a new fan of tumblers. Yours are great. What is their finished size. Particularly like the backings. You must be quilting day and night…

  3. Lisa says:

    Oh my you have been busy! They look great, and I’m wondering where they are headed too.

  4. Annie says:

    during a lecture many years ago Marsha McCloskey said “be sure to add yellow to every quilt. It gives the eyes a place to stop and rest”. I love the tumbler and super love the backings. I am a big fan of a pieced back. Did you slice the leftover blocks and add them in?? They are super interesting.

  5. debmoyes says:

    You are a busy bee! I wish I had time to quilt, but pretty soon….

  6. Carol says:

    WOW Carol – are you getting any sleep – this is an amazing amount of work – and they all turned out so well. I too want to know where they are going. I sure do like that Kaleidoscope pattern and yours is so pretty in those subtle colors. The two pieced strips on the back are wonderful – very nice touch.

  7. Auntie Em says:

    How satisfying to finish so many projects! I love the tumbler quilts. It’s a great idea to cut the tumbler units as you work on other projects.

  8. Ruth Gilliland says:

    The Importance of Yellow is a great name. Poetic – like your quilts. I love the Kaleidoscope – and I saw in the photograph the different circles you tried to show me in person. I guess a picture is worth a lot!

Leave a Reply

