12 x 12–Cats

Our January theme was Cats.  I have always loved appliqued quilts of tigers and zebras so I pushed myself to do my cat using Heat n Bond.  BTW, I was the only member of the group who portrayed a non-domestic cat!  First, I found a photo of a quilt online and printed it in black and white.  Then I enlarged it on 11 x 14 paper at Kinko’s.  I used a window as my lightboard to trace a template for the white and black patches.  I probably ironed the fusible on the wrong side of the white fabric but it must have been the same on both sides so it was not noticed.  Learned that lesson on the black fabric–ruined!

DSC01093DSC01092

DSC01094DSC01095

DSC01098


After the face was done, I bordered it with some African fabric I recently bought from another guild member.  I added a handcrafted jewelry item I recently bought at the yard sale of an artist.  It is only pinned on so it is not permanent if I wanted to wear it!  I forced myself to machine quilt my cat.  Nowhere near perfect or even good but I DID IT.  That’s part of the beauty of these little quilts.  We are making ourselves try new things!

SAM_3450DSC01104

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in 12 x 12, applique, art quilts, quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 12 x 12–Cats

  1. Lani Longshore says:

    Great cat! Your machine quilting looks fine in the photo, but if you want to increase your practice time do a bunch of donation tops that someone else has made. You won’t have the same emotional attachment to getting the quilting design perfect.

  2. debmoyes says:

    Very nice job….. Love the design. You can also practice quilting on large prints or panels as well. I’m just using white at the moment but have saved some big prints to practice following a shape.

  3. Wow, that is amazing! I’m such a straight lines and geometric shapes kind of quilter. I see quilts like yours and think “artist”!

  4. How clever are you?! Your cat looks amazing – glad you didn’t go with a domestic, yours is so much more interesting!

  5. OH says:

    It’s the cat meow.

  6. Look at you – getting all technique-y and jiggy with it! Love the results. I love how you keep doing things new to you! and OH is right – this is the cat’s meow!

  7. Carol says:

    You are getting so arty – this turned out very well – looks just like the photo! You should think about making a small quilt for the art quilt category at Quiltfest. Can’t wait to see photos of all of the other cats – I know your King of the Jungle will stand out amongst the little domestic kittys!

  8. Val says:

    Carol,
    love this so much. i read ur other posting first.
    i give my apologies to you, OH & Donna M.for the almost same comment.
    i am a ‘cat’ lover a few times over. L O L

Leave a Reply

