Quilt confessions

OK, I have to admit I caved and started a new project before finishing everything on my list.  At least I got close.  I finished both little tumblers but one still needs to be washed.  The Spiderweb is bound but needs to be washed and blocked and the other Bento Box is ready for quilting.  Photos of all this later.  For now…I had one yard of fabric with 8 stripes of different prints–and a new Kaleidoscope ruler I wanted to try.  I forgot to take a photo of the fabric before I cut it apart.

DSC01263I was never in love with this fabric so this was my trial run with what I thought might be a tricky pattern with lots of lumpy joins.  I learned a bit but am happy enough to do another one–very scrappy next time.  Still thinking about borders and I will piece a back but here it is so far.  It will be a donation quilt.  I had to find a substitute fabric (the very light one) in my stash because one of the original fabric strips was narrower than the rest.  I plan to use it on the back though.

DSC01272

And while I was cheating on new projects, I started playing with the fish fabrics my friend Carol gifted to me for donation quilts.  If this one turns out OK, I will try to sell it and donate the proceeds to the Panama Canal Quilters.  They help fund school expenses and enriching extracurricular activities for indigenous children who meet grade requirements and whose parents play an active supporting role.

DSC01269

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in community service quilts, kaleidoscope quilt, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quilt confessions

  1. debmoyes says:

    Good for you! I’m glad to hear that you indulged yourself. This is a hobby/avocation and you should allow yourself to enjoy it. Of course you don’t have to be like me and have too many projects going…..The resulting naughty quilt is very pretty. ;-D

  2. Lani Longshore says:

    Cool projects! I love the kaleidescope – so calm and comforting.

  3. Lisa says:

    Haha! It’s hard not to jump into something new right!?!! I love the kaleidoscope, very cool, would love to see it in the brights. And of course your fish quilt is all my kind if color! You are a good doo-bee to be making them both for charity! Ox

  4. Carol says:

    I LOVE the kaleidoscope – I kept thinking it looked familiar then it dawned on me it is a straight sided Winding Ways! When you are here remind me to show you my Lucy Boston book (the Patchwork of the Crosses English lady.) She did a fabulous scrappy kaleidoscope.

    The fish are so cute and bright! And you are so generous to donate the funds to our girls.

  5. Great quilts! Life is too short not to start new projects!!!!

  6. Love your Kaleidoscope! It’s one of my favorite patterns.

  7. Val says:

    Love the vivid colors !

Leave a Reply

