Community service quilts

Our guild has a table for collecting fabric to be used in community service quilts.  I recently picked up a bundle of (roughly) 5″ squares marked “indeterminate fabric” hoping I could turn them into a quilt.  They were a bit flimsy so I had to starch them before I could trim them to 4.5″ squares.

DSC01192DSC01142


I found a couple other suitable fabrics in my stash and a quilt was born.  It’s not very youthful but maybe an old soul will pick it 🙂

DSC01122DSC01259


I also had some checked yardage which had been given to me so I dug through my stash and found some color matches.  The checked fabric is on the heavy side for a quilt but I figure it will be super durable!  The back is 100% checks and the front is 3″ squares.

DSC00982DSC01257


Lastly, I had several yards of dark floral that my mom gave me.  I love how this one is turning out–also 3″ squares.  I just got it back from my mom who hand quilted it in the ditch (she needed a project).  When I get the binding on, it will be ready to go.

DSC00986

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in community service quilts, family and friends, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Community service quilts

  1. Carol says:

    Good grief – you have been busy! No not very youthful – but not all recipients of quilts are young. They will find a home where they are loved. Do you donate to nursing homes ?

  2. debmoyes says:

    Good for you!!! I am sure there will be lots of people who will love your quilts!I am thinking of donating some of my older and less loved quilts to a shelter that my guild makes quilts for.

  3. I love your work for others. You keep bringing it home how important charity work is!

  4. Lynda says:

    You’ve been busy! Isn’t it fun to see how just some little squares can turn into beautiful quilts. Makes them all that much better knowing they will be going to someone who will really appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

