Bento Box…and rework

Another work in progress that must be finished before starting something new.  I first saw the Bento Box pattern on Wanda’s Exuberant Color blog.  I loved it, worked out the math and started making blocks, thinking maybe I’d make at least two quilts.

DSC01031

But one day I was browsing google images of Bento Box quilts and I found a scrappier one that had the quarter blocks dispersed throughout the quilt.  So–you guessed it–I picked apart the 25 blocks I had made so far and started putting them on my design floor (wall was full of what I should have been working on).

DSC01067

Now I’ve made some additional quarter blocks and think I will be happy with a 4 x 4 block configuration.  I need to do some rearranging and may have to make some substitute blocks but I’m happy with this size and with the scrappier look.

DSC01109

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in bento box, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bento Box…and rework

  1. Lani Longshore says:

    I love the Bento Box pattern, too! I thought your first version was lovely – and still do – but I have to admit the scrap version has a lot of zing.

  2. Wow! that looks fabulous!!

  3. jennyklyon says:

    Me too-love the Bento Box! Fabulous vibrant color choices.

  4. Lynda says:

    I like both versions. I am quite attracted to real scrappy quilts now tho since I am trying to use up some of my stash. Even tho my stash is small it seems daunting to try to use it all up.

  5. ali says:

    Exuberant Color indeed! I really like these—both versions! It’s odd, maybe, but somehow the scrappier version seems more cohesive to me.

  6. Lisa says:

    Love the colors!! I like both layouts. So fun to move them all around and see what works best.

  7. debmoyes says:

    You and your picking out! You are on patient person – I do not like to pick seams apart…. It looks good though; very vibrant!

  8. You whaaaat??? Good grief Carol – I thought you would have been picked out after the Fish In My Attic disaster – I think you secretly LIKE picking out 🙂 Of course I do like the scrappier version better. Cool pattern very colorful and cheerful.

  9. I like the scrappier versiion best. I think the other one looks too planned and I don’t know about you but I can’t stick with a planned quilt very easily.

Leave a Reply

