Getting serious with the 2013 plan

I have decided to attack my least favorite work-in-progress first, the thought being it will be a downhill glide from there 🙂  I had seen a beautiful spiderweb quilt online and could not get it out of my mind so although paper piecing is not my favorite, I decided I had to try it.  What struck me about this particular quilt was that the negative space also had webs.  I thought I could try a cheater version with fussy cutting.  Ha!  Gave up before completing one test block and decided to use a different (simpler?) set of templates–all from Quilter’s Cache by the way.

DSC01156DSC01157


And we’re off…

DSC00992


Besides sewing upside down on paper, I tried to make things even more complicated by finishing the center seam of my webs by hand.

DSC01005 DSC01006DSC01009

 

DSC01010
Results after a little practice…

DSC01158DSC01159


I don’t know how I managed to get 16 blocks completed as my color/fabric choices got less exciting as I progressed.  Nevertheless, I kept making myself move forward to this point.  Then as a reward, I pinned the rows together and hid them under a big pile.  I actually managed to forget about them for a while.  But now…ONWARD!

DSC01051

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in paper piecing, quilting, spiderweb and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Getting serious with the 2013 plan

  1. When you say you’re getting busy, you mean it! This is going to be lovely. I love that you know when something is too tricky and you modify to suit your style!

  2. jennyklyon says:

    Fabulous-love your spiderwebs!

  3. Auntie Em says:

    Good for you for sticking with it! The resulting quilt is very cool, especially the stripes.

  4. Lisa says:

    You never cease to amaze me! Those blocks are awesome. Love the way the spin! ox

  5. Carol says:

    Wow!! You have been busy. You’re almost finished. It looks GREAT. The decision to hand piece that pesky center where all the points meet was brilliant – the little flower formed by the twirled seams is so cute. If there is still a bump in the center shoot it with a bit of steam and whack it with a rubber mallet several times – works like a charm – I do it all the time.

    I’m not seeing any “less exciting” fabric choices – they all look good to me. My favorites are the ones that contain stripes.

    What are your plans for a border? This should definitely be a QuiltFest entry.

  6. Lynda says:

    Quite an accomplishment!

  7. Sandy Onsager says:

    Wow!

  8. Lani Longshore says:

    Your colors are fine, and with the right border I think you’ll love the soft, sweeping effect.

  9. ali says:

    I agree with Carol–this is a gem, a real winner! It’s stunning, Carol.

Leave a Reply

