Tumblers in progress

It seems forever since I have worked on my Mourning Jules quilt but that is because I didn’t have a quilting plan for the border.  I had bought a template but decided it was too whimsical for the theme of this quilt.

DSC01144

When I did the wavy border on the Fish in the Attic quilt (previous post), I started thinking it would work for the mourning quilt as a representation of grief as a roller coaster.  As I just quilted in the ditch for the body, this gave a similar amount of quilting to the border and I am happy with how it looks.  I used a Clover chalk marker for the first time and have not yet tried to remove the residue.  Hope it comes out easily.  Two more sides and this one is finished (except for a sleeve and a label).

DSC01143DSC01146


As is my usual style, I cut way too many tumblers for this quilt.  I had originally wanted to show movement from sombre colors to yellows but that plan never came together so I combined what was left into another little quilt.  What a difference the yellow made–and some rather bright green!  I machine pieced it and have just starting the hand quilting.  Here are design wall and design floor photos.  In the second photo, I’m measuring the fabric for the backing.

DSC00453DSC00455


These quilts were so much fun to put together that I had been cutting scraps into tumblers (it takes a 3.5″ strip) and I decided to make one more.  I started it last but finished it first and it is already given away to a very cute and special 3-yr old.  It is machine pieced and machine quilted and I just folded the backing over the front edge for the binding.  It still amazes me how putting all these crazy colors together works!

DSC01020DSC01021

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in grief quilt, hand piecing, hand quilting, quilting, tumblers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tumblers in progress

  1. Lani Longshore says:

    The quilts are delightful! I love the symbolism of the roller-coaster heart, and that you make more blocks than needed for any given project. Having something else to start when I finish one thing is absolutely essential to keep me going.

  2. ali says:

    Yes, I agree with Lani–the symbolism of the quilting in the border of Mourning Jules is poignant and, well, symbolic. And no kidding, what a difference adding the yellows makes. All three quilts are unique. An earlier post inspired me to order the tumble templates, and this post may just be what inspires me to use them! Thanks, Carol.

  3. Auntie Em says:

    I think you were so right in choosing the quilt pattern for the border. The little hearts in addition to the wavy lines is just the thing.
    I’m like you, and would have cut lots and lots of extra tumblers too. I like to have lots to choose from when deciding which fabric goes where.

  4. annjrippin says:

    This is gorgeous – I love tumbler quilts and I love the one patch ones in general but this is really great.

  5. Peace to you in 2013. Thanks for making me always think about what I do, thanks to you thinking about what you do!

  6. debmoyes says:

    Happy Day to you as well! I hope you have a really good year, my quilting friend! ;-D

Leave a Reply

