SO MUCH sewing and giving thanks

Early in the year, I looked in my sewing room trash basket and there were so many empty spools that I decided to dig them out and start a collection as one gauge of my sewing for the year.  I was also trying to keep track of yards of fabric used from my stash but lost track at 78 yards (after my will power caved and I started buying again).  Yesterday I spent a quiet Thanksgiving with my mom and one of our activities was working a jigsaw puzzle that involved quilts.  This morning while I was recalling the many things in my life for which I am thankful (topping the list is having been born to my wonderful mother and father), the idea struck me that the time was right for my spool photo.  I also use 1200-yd spools of 100% cotton which are not counted here.  These are just my inventory collected over years of sewing.  They were not all full at the start but still, I think rather impressive when seen as a year’s work!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SO MUCH sewing and giving thanks

  1. What a great photo! Out of the many quilt blogs I read, I think yours might be the most aptly named.

  2. Very artistic! I wish I knew of a way to recycle empty spools towards something else.

  3. OH says:

    G-Even-though my sewing is limited, I have always collected spools of thread. It is a very quiet kind of collection.

  4. I started keeping track of my empty spools this year too but didn’t start until May. I don’t have as many of you but I usually use the huge spools from Superior. I would never want to keep track of my fabric – that would be too crazy.

  5. Linda says:

    Looks like a fun puzzle, too. I have a bunch of empty spools, some of the old wooden ones, but a lot of the plastic ones. We need a project for them!

  6. Lani Longshore says:

    What a fun way of tracking your accomplishments! A friend of a friend makes bird toys out of empty spools – maybe someone at your local SPCA or Humane Society does the same?

  7. Lisa says:

    HA! I wish I had thought to save my spools. I do recycle them though, into the plastic bin they go. You certainly have done quite a bit more sewing this year than I have!

  8. That spool pile is a great reminder of what a productive year you have enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

