Another epic quilt tale


I had been seeing the Rose Star pattern on several blogs and it looked like a great hand piecing project so I ordered a Kite template from QuiltSmith.  Wanting my project to evolve quickly, I ordered the largest one.  Oh well, I’m a firm believer that mistakes breed creativity 🙂  The resulting “blocks” were going to be really too huge (the tiles on my design floor are 12″)!


Next I played around with just two rounds of kites instead of five but was not sure I liked that plan so I decided to first play with some odds and ends fabrics.  You can see the scale as the green and pink block is laid out on a 17″ square table.


While all the fabrics are bright, some blocks had less contrast and I was not liking how they hung together.  So I decided to add strips between the columns and use that same fabric for borders.  After that I started liking it better.

Before I joined the last column, I did a final rearrangement.  After the border was on, my friend Val took me to meet her long arm quilter–my very first foray into having someone else do my quilting.  From the beginning, I have either hand quilted my quilts or done a bit of elementary machine quilting.  Now my hands are objecting to hand quilting and I wanted this one to look better than what would result from my machine quilting skills.  I got it back quickly and am pleased with the results.  I tried to capture a bit of the overall quilting.  Will show the back after I get the binding on.


Now I will do something similar with the original pieces I cut.  But at QuiltFest this year I bought a smaller kite template, so two quilts later, I do still plan to make a Rose Star!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another epic quilt tale

  1. wayne rhodes says:

    The sashing really was a huge improvement! Great idea!

  2. Auntie Em says:

    It may not be the quilt you had in mind when you started, but it turned out great!

  3. Lisa says:

    Carol! It looks tremendous! I love the colors and they way it came together. The first blocks are nice too, you could have gone king size in minutes! Hehehe

  4. Carol says:

    WOW – the original size was 36″ – that’s a BIG block – your “mini” version turned our very well – can’t wait to see what you do with the smaller template.

  5. debmoyes says:

    I do like the big size – sometimes big is fun. It also means that you can do more quilting in each block….. Having someone quilt your quilt is liberating, isn’t it? I can’t get away with that anymore though! Have to use the expensive new machine. ;-D

  6. Lani Longshore says:

    Art is always a journey. Yours had some interesting turns, with a wonderful quilt at the end! I’m glad you let the fabric tell you what it wanted.

  7. ali says:

    This is fabulous! The colors are vivid and the design is lively–great addition, that sashing! Maybe the giant blocks could be covers for large floor-type pillows!

  8. ali says:

    I just had to come back an look again–I think I’ll put your version on my give-it-a-try list for the coming new year! It’s really stunning.

Leave a Reply

