QuiltFest 2012–part 3

This is the last post of this year’s show.  I know I have only covered a smattering of the 400+ quilts on display.  I was particularly taken with the Miniature category.  I have never tried one myself but am in awe of the skill and patience of these quilters.  I’ll let the info cards speak for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place ribbon winners.


Another guild member Marita almost did not enter her hand appliqued quilt in the Large Appliqued category because she entered a similar one last year and got a comment on her judge’s sheet that she did beautiful machine applique.  I hope her handwork was recognized this year.  She uses blanket stitching with embroidery thread and matches the fabric colors marvelously.  My apologies for not getting a close-up.


Also in the Large Applique category was this lovely quilt made with ties.


I found this entry in the Large Art category interesting.


The quilt maker of the next quilt (also Large Art) gave a trunk show at my guild last year.  Many of her creations are made from thrift store clothing.  She said she cuts them apart and even uses seams, zippers and buttons in her work.


The same quilt maker entered this fun quilt in the Other category.   It took home a 3rd place ribbon.


Also in Other, this spectacular whole cloth quilt which won a 1st place ribbon.


In the Small Art category, this quilt caught my eye.  I liked the combination of techniques.


And because I am a cat lover, I thought this was just about the sweetest quilt in the whole show (also Small Art).


As I said earlier, there were so many beautiful quilts it was impossible for me to show them all but at least you have gotten a taste.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilt shows, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to QuiltFest 2012–part 3

  1. Loved that Fireworks piece. Thanks for finishing this tour. Most enjoyable!

  2. debmoyes says:

    My favorite is the tie quilt – I really like Dresden Plate sort of designs. The overall quilt design is very unusual and just well done!

  3. Lisa says:

    Those tiny pieced quilts are amazing! I bet they were wonderful to see up close. Thanks for the tour. Loved the cat too, so cute.

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    Wow, what amazing quilts! Thanks for sharing.

  5. ali says:

    Carol, these are amazing. Thanks so much for taking the time and energy to share so much–you are terrific!

Leave a Reply

