QuiltFest 2012–part 2

I have been procrastinating doing this post because there are so many quilts I liked at the show.  Here’s my attempt at trimming the list by category.

First, this was our guild table (Betty Ann, Paula and Val pictured) with our lovely raffle quilt (Collaborative category) in the background.  We voted to donate this year’s proceeds to Community Hospice Peds Care which provides services to children with life-limiting and life-threatening conditions.  Because we had such delicious-looking treats we sold lots of raffle tickets.  A $1 donation (one ticket) came with a “truffle” from the lovely tiered server on left.  They looked so real one lady was seen licking the fabric as she walked away.  For a $5 donation (six tickets), one could choose a “piece of cake” (center of table).


The judge this year awarded three top prizes to quilts with half-inch square pieces so I will show those together although they were in three different categories.  In Large Pieced Duet meaning one person did the piecing and one did the quilting, two ribbons are awarded. Check out the number of pieces listed on the information card!


The same pattern got a ribbon in the Collaborative category.


A different pattern with half-inch pieces won a ribbon in the Intermediate Pieced category.


Following are some other quilts I liked in Intermediate Pieced.  I’m not usually crazy for OBW’s but this one was exquisite in my book.  Scrumptious fabrics!


I had to add this pattern to my “to do” list!  Lots of attention to fabric placement!


And another quilt with LOTS of pieces (over 8000!).


Circling back to the Collaborative category, this happy quilt caught my eye.


I loved this quilt in the Small Pieced category.  In fact I had previously purchased a Karen Stone book because of a pattern using similar spikey diamonds.


This was an amazing quilt “Dream Truck” in the Large Pieced Duet category.  Unless you stood 15-20 feet back, you did not see the pixelated image!  I did not get a photo of the info card but Mary Carrico is the quilt maker and her husband Ken is the truck driver.


I’m going to have to save my other favorites for my next post but let me sign off by showing the other quilt I entered (Large Pieced category)–different from Large Pieced Duet because both the piecing and quilting must be done by the same person.  No ribbon but a fellow quilter told me a few years ago to make what you love, not something to impress a judge.  Then you will take home a treasure all the same.  I do really love this creation and it was one of the most fun quilts I have ever made.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilt shows, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to QuiltFest 2012–part 2

  1. Lisa says:

    Oh my goodness! All those little pieces of fabric. Amazing. Your friend is right, always make what you love and you will love it all the more. Great peek at the show!

  2. jennyklyon says:

    Wow, you’ve got some serious piecers in your guild! Your raffle quilt is beautiful. And I love your quilt-your use of color is spectacular!

  3. Pippa Moss says:

    I enjoyed Quiltfest too. Very different from our shows here in the UK! I did a post on it in my blog. Pippa

  4. debmoyes says:

    These are great quilts – including yours! Nice show and tell.

  5. Ann Marie says:

    Thanks for posting. I’ve missed seeing this show since I moved to the Midwest. Your quilt is lovely. And a more sane number of pieces!

  6. Your posts make me smile. Especially the last two pictures. Thanks for the eye candy. And your smile!

  7. Thanks for the peek at QF2012 – I really missed not going this year. I LOVE your quilt that started out with collection of “ugly” fabrics – it turned out beautifully – in fact it’s my favorite of all your quilts. It’s a lot bigger than I thought it would be – but then again you are so tiny 🙂

  8. ali says:

    wow–inches, amazing! I love your quilt–the colors and pattern sings to me–beautiful! And your smile, beautiful, too!

Leave a Reply

