Hexagon star edge

I am not partial to irregular edges on bed quilts so my first thought for straightening the two sides of Cielo Azul was to add large half triangles.

True to form (will I never learn), I cut them all before I decided to baste a couple to see what it really looked like.  The rest of the quilt was a pressing dream with all seam intersections making either a 3 or 6-fabric twirl for a nice flat finish.  After basting one triangle pair, I realized this was just going to make a mess of the edge pressing.

So I went to Plan B, cutting half diamonds from the already cut triangles.  I’ll trim the existing diamonds–which were already part of the hexagons–for a nice straight edge.  I don’t think it will look bad with just that little bit missing and my organized pressing plan won’t be compromised 🙂

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, hexagons, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hexagon star edge

  1. Lani Longshore says:

    Hurrah! Using the fabric you wanted and adjusting the plan to fit the reality while you worked – that’s my idea of a dream project.

  2. jennyklyon says:

    Great solution-love the look. I am like you-cut them all out, then try them to see how it works….

  3. Linda says:

    Seems to me plan B refocuses the eye on the stars instead of the secondary hexagons. Brilliant!

  4. Lisa says:

    I have done they same thing, cut it all then see if it works. Your fix looks great and you didn’t waste fabric! A plus on both sides! So glad it came out so beautifully.

  5. debmoyes says:

    Good solution. I am not a pre-cutter – I’m too impatient! I want to see how it’s going to look and work. Perhaps your pre-cutting provided the solution though. (Hello from Charlotte!)

  6. ali says:

    Your quilting process seems like a metaphor for living–being there, paying attention, struggling with problems, finding solutions, moving on. I love these colors together–sunshine meets water!

Leave a Reply

