12 x 12–other Family Trees quilts

I only have about half of the group’s photos for this theme.  One member was not at the meeting and a few of the quilts were not finished but  I will go ahead and post the ones I do have.  Diane’s tree is about the family pets.


Sharyn, a retired biology teacher, depicted her family’s DNA (appliqued).

Vicki shows trees indigenous to where she and her sister live as well as respective pets and hobbies–and check out her quick binding a la Laura Wasilowski (www.artfabrik.com).


Melinda’s interpretation (and quilt title) brings a smile.


Linda made a swirl (continuum) of leaves and wrote her thoughts on the label.

Kathy shows us what a family of birches might be feeling!


My theme is next but unfortunately I forgot to snap a picture before handing it off to the generous husband who is photographing all our quilts.  He and Vickie left for a two week vacation shortly after our meeting so those posts will have to wait.  Will catch up soon!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in 12 x 12, art quilts, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 12 x 12–other Family Trees quilts

  1. debmoyes says:

    What a great group! I enjoyed looking at these quilts!

  2. Carol says:

    You are so lucky to have the opportunity to participate in these great challenges – it really does get you out of your comfort zone and sparks your creativity. Thanks for posting the other entries – it is fun seeing each quilter’s interpretation of the subject.

  3. Great imagination – what a lovely project.

  4. Lisa says:

    They are terrific! I always love to see the different approaches to designing the quilt. Very fun!

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    These are so cool! I’ve been thinking about doing a tree series for years, and after seeing these I have so many more ideas! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Nina-Marie says:

    So glad I found your blog – love the tree series and where you’re taking it! I want to invite you to link up Off the Wall Friday – where weekly art quilters are linking their creative endeavors for the week. Any post from that week is welcome to be shared and its very low maintenance. We’re hoping that it will keep us motivated and connect link minded quilters together!!

  7. ali says:

    These are great! I love seeing the different interpretations. I love the signs on the birches! Thanks for sharing–I’ll be watching out for your theme!

Leave a Reply

