12 x 12 quilt # 3–Family Trees

For the family trees theme, my original idea was to make Papa and Mama leaning trees from flying geese like I had seen in Lisa’s Leftovers-it’s what’s for dinner quilt on The Red Headed Mermaid blog.  Under the parent trees, where the cones would not have fallen far,  juvenile trees (maybe even some red-headed stepchildren) would be growing.  Unlike me, I procrastinated drawing my plan till close to the deadline.  When all my sketches for this idea made me nauseous, I started thinking maybe I should quit this group.  But I told myself I am not a quitter and put my thinking cap back on.

I decided I wanted to interpret family trees in a much broader sense than single families.  My dad used to have a decal on his briefcase where different colors of hands were intertwined in a circle.  From there the ball was rolling for my quilt which I named Red and Yellow, Black and White.  I drew 4 paper pieced blocks and whipped out a quilt that I like enough to keep participating in the group–a good thing I guess since the next theme is my pick!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in 12 x 12, art quilts, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 12 x 12 quilt # 3–Family Trees

  1. jennyklyon says:

    I love your post-I feel the same way about my art quilts: just about ready to quit, but I stomp my foot and say “No”, I will not quit! I love your idea of family trees and the idea behind it. Go girl!

  2. Carol says:

    PERFECT!! I have seen the hands graphic many times – this is a wonderful interpretation of the idea. For me it symbolizes the mixed races that make up many of today’s modern families.

  3. ali says:

    This is a great design–the trees also seem like arrows of sort, pointing the way to..your next art quilt, maybe? One thing (of many) I’ve always admired about you is your perseverance and ultimate success!

  4. Linda says:

    For our group to not have you in it is unthinkable!

  5. Lisa says:

    Lovely idea from hands to trees, but I would love to see you try those bending trees! They are pretty east to make. Can’t wait to see what your theme pick will bring! Ox

  6. debmoyes says:

    What a fun group! I really like the idea of “assignments” – it’s very interesting and challenging to have parameters. Good job! (Now you can make a little piece for Christmas too!)

  7. Val says:

    Imaginative, thinking outside the tree [s].

  8. Good for you for choosing to stick with it! Cute quilt, too!
    Can’t wait to see what theme you pick for yours.

Leave a Reply

