Fish quilts

On a recent trip to Panama, I got to spend several days with my friend Carol–sewing, chatting and dreaming about future projects.  Her fabric tastes have changed since she started quilting so she sent a stack of fish fabric home with me to make into community service quilts.  There were 12 half yards of different prints and a 2 yard piece suitable for backing–a very generous donation.  The fabric is so fun, I immediately started playing with it.  For 6 of the half yards, my current plan is to make attic windows quilts.  Here is the beginning of one.  I had never made this pattern and after these first two blocks, I had to tweak the window frame measurements just a hair.


The other 6 half yards are more overall prints so I decided to cut 9″ squares and combine 3 prints in each of 2 quilts.  The first one is complete (except for a label) and ready to turn in at my next guild meeting.  For quilting, I did QID around the sashing and then did a couple of wavy lines through each square.


Here are a couple of close-ups of the back for the quilting and the cute fabrics–thanks again Carol.  Oh, and I successfully sewed down the binding by machine instead of hemming it by hand.  Loving that, especially with 6 more donation quilts in the pipeline.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in community service quilts, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fish quilts

  1. jennyklyon says:

    The attic windows is just too cute! Someone will really enjoy that!

  2. Carol says:

    I am so glad I remembered I had those fabrics – I love what you’ve done so far! Once you’ve done 8 fish themed quilts you aren’t going to want to see a fish print ever again 🙂

  3. ali says:

    Give a woman yards of fish fabric, and you give a few deserving people lovely quilts to cheer them for a long time! The attic window is something I’ve been wanting to try–this may inspire me. In what way did you need to tweak the pattern?

  4. rutheh says:

    Looks like your machine is back on track and doing a great job!

  5. Love the attic windows setting and your choice of fabrics! (Link to Carol doesn’t work…)

  6. Val says:

    Your fish quilts are spot on with those bright colors. Made with sew much love and they will be received with great thanks.

  7. OH says:

    Gilly, your soul will be floating around this old world long after you have departed.

  8. Lisa says:

    Oh my you’ve been quite the busy bee! They look great and will be so loved.

Leave a Reply

