THIS has never happened before

I sewed a whole side of binding before I noticed THIS.  From the top all seemed fine and the machine sound never changed.


Although this mess was on the bottom, my first thought was to reseat the bobbin.  Then for good measure I cleaned the dust bunnies from under the needle plate.  Gave it a try expecting the best, but it was the same tangled mess.  What to do?  Would changing the needle help?  Wouldn’t hurt.  But as I was doing that I noticed the thread had somehow escaped the take-up lever.  Re-threaded top thread and all is A-OK again thank goodness.  I hate it when the machine breaks just as a project is nearing a finish (more on THAT soon).  And now I’ll know exactly what to do if this ever happens again!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in community service quilts, quilting, tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to THIS has never happened before

  1. Funny how our machines tell us something is wrong! Glad you figured this out. My machine is currently getting new feed dogs!

  2. wayne rhodes says:

    oh yeah…been there, done that!

  3. rutheh says:

    Oh dear. Great illustration of frustration that I am certain many followers have experienced, too.

  4. Linda says:

    It looks as though the fish got caught in some fishing line. P.s. can’t wait to see the quilt with the fabulous backing fabric.

  5. Carol says:

    How strange that the machine didn’t sound different. It looks like it should have made a graunching (is that a word) noise. My trouble shooting routine is to change the needle, take out the bobbin case and clean out the dust bunnies, and rethread – that usually solves the problem.

  6. Lisa says:

    This has happened to me too. Aren’t you glad when you can figure it out yourself and not have to take it in for service?!!

  7. debmoyes says:

    In every how-to-use-your-machine class I have taken, the instructor always says when there’s a sewing problem, re-thread your machine! It’s amazing how often that is what’s needed. How does that pesky thread escape from it’s place???

  8. Auntie Em says:

    Oh No! My first thought was always to re-thread the bobbin when that type of tangled mess occurs. It took me a while to realize that it was the top thread that was causing the problem. Hopefully your post will help someone else who might have the same thing happen.

    Love that cute fish fabric!

  9. ali says:

    This has happened to me often! Sometimes I catch the subtle shift in sound or motion and fix things right away, but sometimes, like this time for you, there is really absolutely no clue!

  10. As I was reading I was thinking “threading issue.” Don’t ask me how I know…..

Leave a Reply

