12 x 12 quilt #2–Windows

My first idea for the Windows theme was to create an inside scene and overlay it with black tulle strips to look like sun coming through Venetian blinds.  I took a sample photo (of the floor) in my living room.  Then I decided to make an armchair with a cat sleeping in it.  There was a nice chair in a flyer from JoAnn’s so so I traced it, transferred it to HeatnBond Lite and created a small sample chair I rather liked.  Obviously the final chair would have to be bigger or the cat smaller 🙂  However, when I started experimenting with the tulle strips, I was not getting the effect I had envisioned–even with multiple layers–and they were extremely difficult to work with.


I decided I better start thinking about Plan B.  I had some actual window film I had been meaning to install in my sunroom so I stuck a piece under my presser foot to see if I could stitch through it.  Easy peasy.  I also had some brick fabric and knew I could come up with something for a roof.  As my “little house with window” grew, I decided to make it more personal and put a reversible FOR SALE sign in the window.  This last because after Jules passed away, I found myself with more properties (we invested in real estate on the side) than I could comfortably handle by myself.  Now I can use my little house to indicate whether I am looking for buyers or rejoicing over a sale.  If you are wondering about “SE VENDE,” it means “FOR SALE” in Spanish.  I added that for a condo in the Republic of Panama, which by the way is under contract.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in 12 x 12, art quilts, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 12 x 12 quilt #2–Windows

  1. Linda says:

    And the cat and chair will serve you another day.

  2. ali says:

    This is so, so sweet, and meaningful, too! The creative process is amazing.

  3. Lisa says:

    Very nice! I love the window “fabric,” that worked out very well.

  4. Super idea, and great execution. That comfy chair and sweet kitty should definitely show up in some other quilt on another day. They’re adorable!

  5. debmoyes says:

    Nice design process. I agree – the cat in the chair is a very cute idea and you should “save” it. The chair looks really good BYW!

  6. Lani Longshore says:

    Love plan B, looking forward to seeing plan A someday, and congratulations on selling the condo in Panama!

Leave a Reply

