Playing with a focus fabric

A few members of my quilt guild recently took a road trip to St. Augustine for a fiber art exhibit, lunch and the delightful Magrieta’s Quilt Shop.  I loved a quilt she had on display from the Rail and Square Quilt pattern by Trudie Hughes.  Back home, in my quest to reduce my stash, I started auditioning available fabrics.


I liked the orange but none of my greens excited me so I took a swatch and went shopping.  The fuschia I settled on makes for a rather louder quilt than I had in mind but it was a fun exercise for me setting blocks on point for the first time and the backing softens it a bit!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Playing with a focus fabric

  1. Ooh, I love the fuscia!

  2. Auntie Em says:

    “quest to reduce my stash”…. People do that? I have tried, but it just seems to keep multiplying.
    Cool quilt!

  3. I must like “loud” because I sure like that!

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh I love the colors!, my kind of colors! Haha. I think it looks great.

  5. ali says:

    Great, strong colors and pattern! Did you come out even–i.e. reduce some stash, buy some fuchsia? : )

Leave a Reply

