Catch up week–Granny Square finish

Auntie Em posted last week about quilting her granny squares which had inspired my quilt.  That’s when I realized I never shared the finished quilt.  I machine quilted around the blocks and then my mom (who is 86) hand quilted inside them.  Besides helping me finish more projects, her quilt stitching gives her a sense of accomplishment, so I am trying to provide her with a steady stream of “work” 🙂  She also hem stitched the binding!


This quilt is not the only project that has escaped the blog.  In January (of this year), a few members from my guild started a sub-group initiative to explore 12 x 12 art quilts inspired by these award-winning artists.  If you have not seen their book, put it on your list.  When I bought it I had never even thought of making an art quilt.  I read the book from cover to cover and hated when it ended.  I must warn you, I am totally out of my comfort zone in this group but it has been a fun (mostly) learning experience.  We have done three quilts so far.  My goal for the week is to share mine.  Now that I have put that in writing, I have to do it–right?

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, granny squares, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Catch up week–Granny Square finish

  1. Lisa says:

    Oh your granny square quilt looks wonderful! I haven’t tried this block yet. I have been working on the crocheted kind recently. Glad you are keeping your mom busy! Hehehe. oxox

  2. ali says:

    Yes–you must show us your art quilt! Mom’s hand stitching is a wonderful addition to this quilt–go Mom!

  3. I’ll show you mine – if you show me yours. Actually, my guild is doing a modern art challenge – results are due in August. I LOVE the link you posted and just put it up at thechicagomodernquiltguild.blospot.com/ Thank you!

  4. jennyklyon says:

    Entering the art quilt world huh? You’re going to have fun! How kind of you to keep your Mom busy and wonderful that she is still quilting!

  5. debmoyes says:

    I will await the unveiling of your art quilt square. I’m sure it will be great and 12″ is a good size to play with!

  6. Yes – you have to do it – we are all waiting with baited breath. I am still browsing the quilts – very talented artists. I need that book. Your Granny Squares turned out great. Love that pattern – it is on my list of machine made patterns that I’d like to make. Having your Mom do the quilting makes the quilt extra special.

  7. Auntie Em says:

    Your Granny quilt came out great! I like the colors in the cornerstones. If you ever run out of quilting projects for you mom, you can count on me to supply you with one! 😉

    Art quilt, eh? Have fun!

  8. I need to make a Granny Square quilt! I really do! And I could keep your mother VERY busy if you ever run out of ideas.

Leave a Reply

