Circle success–a finish

When I got all the Circle in Circle blocks together and started thinking about a border, I was thrilled to find that all seven quilts using this block in Mary Mashuta’s Confetti Quilts were finished by binding only–NO BORDERS.  Why go against an expert?  Of course then, I was faced with picking the perfect binding.  I decided to go light and of the three fabrics with enough yardage left to cut the binding strips, I am happy with what I chose.




I was going to QID the squares by machine and do the curves by hand but I made a mess of machine quilting one half, ripped it all out and did all hand quilting.  It’s a soothing task for my evenings.

Let me now admit that I said this was the last curves I was ever doing but I know I should never say never.  An apple core keeps tickling my brain!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in Circle within Circle, hand dyeing, hand piecing, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Circle success–a finish

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Really nice color choices! Isn’t it great to not have to border? Apple core-not just a curve, but a difficult curve!

  2. ali says:

    This is perfect–I like the bound, borderless edge. Very clean and crisp–refreshing!

  3. rutheh says:

    Beautiful work! Just lovely.

  4. Auntie Em says:

    It turned out so well! I like your color choices.
    I am currently trying to “fix” some quilting choices I made on my current quilt. My seam ripper and I have become much to friendly lately!

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    Cool!

  6. Lisa says:

    It looks beautiful! Another great accomplishment for you! Curves aren’t so bad. They can even be fun as you have found out! ox

  7. liz says:

    A great result. It’s a beautiful quilt. I feel like you do about curves. Apple cores are hard; perhaps a baby sized quilt would be OK…

Leave a Reply

