Inspiration in Montreal

My friend Pat and I just returned from a week in Montreal.  Most of my photos don’t do justice to the beautiful city but I do want to share some inspiration from the Botanical Garden adjacent to Olympic Park.  The “Garden of Peace” consists of Iznik tiles from Turkey.  They are produced using extremely difficult and unique fabrication techniques which date back to ancient times.  Near the end of the 17th century, these techniques were lost but thanks to the painstaking research efforts carried out by the Iznik Foundation, they were rediscovered in 1995, after a lapse of nearly three hundred years.  I think I would like to try to design an applique quilt from the designs.

Here is a video of the Iznik tile production process if you are interested.

 

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, inspiration, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Inspiration in Montreal

  1. Carol says:

    WOW!! They are gorgeous – a quilt waiting to happen! I Googled Iznik tiles to see more designs – they are spectacular! Tons of inspiration for applique.

  2. debmoyes says:

    I really like the one on the right – it is already beautifully designed for an appliquéd piece! Even the colors are perfect.

  3. Love that second photo – you can see the tiles/blocks. Hmm, nice inspiration! I’d like to hear more about your time in Montreal!

  4. jennyklyon says:

    Those tiles are gorgeous! Somehow I unsubscribed or something-just realized it and re-subscribed. Now I realize I missed your blog!

  5. Love those Iznik designs! Will watch for your appliqué from them with great interest!!!

  6. ali says:

    Wow–these are amazing. Great video, thanks! If anyone could do justice to an Iznik tile inspired appliqué quilt, it’s you!

Leave a Reply

