Circle in circle progress


This project has been in a drawer because I started it as a hand piecing project and did not really have the motivation to keep tackling those curves.  In the back of my mind I had been considering sewing the blocks together by machine because it would be all straight lines.  Then I decided if I could also sew the large curves by machine, a finish might be looming in my lifetime.  And that is exactly what I did.

I needed a quick portable project for a trip so I took inventory and found I had completed 42 of 100 blocks by hand.  I machine sewed the large curve on 58 blocks and packed my needle, thread, thimble and travel scissors.  In one week, all the small curves were completed by hand and ready for design placement.  This is close to my final plan but I moved a few blocks before I started sewing the rows together.  Color is a little off–my design wall is NOT blue!  Will try for a more accurate photo in my next progress post.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in Circle within Circle, curved piecing, hand piecing, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Circle in circle progress

  1. Looks great . Have you thought about the dreaded border yet?

  2. Lani Longshore says:

    This is glorious (even if the colors I see aren’t quite what you have)! Curved piecing is not my favorite, ever since I pieced a clamshell that bubbled. Good for you for revisiting this UFO, and piecing it so well.

  3. It looks great! That is a lot of curved piecing.

  4. Lisa says:

    Wow! That is a great UFO to just pull out and finish! Makes me want to go see what I have that I can finish up too.

  5. debmoyes says:

    Sounds like you got more stitching done on your trip than I did! I only worked on my GFG the last few days when I wasn’t quite so caught up in the search. I almost always hand piece curves…It looks really great. It is a good feeling to pull out something and figure out a way to get it done. (I’m having trouble with my Gail Garber quilt). Good job!

  6. ali says:

    That’s a great idea–the machine/hand blend. The colors are terrific–I think I wrote that when you first previewed it. They remind me of ice cream or sherbet.

  7. Nothing says you can’t combine machine and hand piecing, right? Whatever it takes to get it DONE! 🙂
    I love the layout you have used.

Leave a Reply

