Comfort quilting

Working on my Mourning Jules quilt has been such a comfort to me during the weeks around the first anniversary of his passing.  Although it is not finished, I far surpassed the goal I set for myself in early May to at least finish the top by the one year milestone.  Because I was going to do the hand quilting in my lap, I did the binding after putting a row of quilting just inside the border.  I was rushing a bit and left the binding ends loose as I was attaching it by machine–a mistake I won’t repeat 🙂  Photo on the right has the loose binding pinned out of the way–how I usually do it to begin with.




I am quilting in the ditch, surrounding every piece.  I had all the horizontal rows done the day before the anniversary so I was able to remove all the basting and slept under the quilt that night–VERY comforting indeed.  I am still working on the vertical quilting and am considering several ideas for the border.  I’m very pleased with the result so far.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in family and friends, grief quilt, hand piecing, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Comfort quilting

  1. Carol says:

    I love how subtle the initials and heart are. Fond memories stitched into every block. What a wonderful and comforting quilt to treasure forever. Are you entering it in Quiltfest Jax 2012?

  2. Lisa says:

    It must have been very comforting indeed! Such a lovely quilt. Ox

  3. debmoyes says:

    Huh. I’ve never seen anyone put on the binding before quilting…. I don’t think I could do that as my quilt adjusts itself as I quilt; sometimes quite a lot. So glad you’re enjoying this work.

  4. ali says:

    Ha! I’ve done that with binding myself. More than once.

    This is a lovely tribute, from your hands to comforting and wrapped around you–a hug and memories.

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    A special quilt like this deserves its’ own stories. The binding story will make the quilt all the more precious.

  6. ali says:

    I’m just stopping by to say hi and look at this loving, and lovely, quilt again.

Leave a Reply

