Tumbling stars label

Readers will probably remember I am label averse.  It’s always the last thing I tackle and usually only when a show requires it.  But I got up Sunday morning and suddenly an idea of how to use a left-over star block popped into my head.  While not perfect, I did not go through my usual agonies to get it accomplished.  I made a hexagon template from freezer paper to fit inside the points of the star.  After practicing the placement of my wording, I wrote the muslin label correctly on the first try and appliqued it to the star.  I attempted to just turn under the raw edges of the block but the fabric was on the thin side so I lined it with muslin, cutting a slit in the center of the back and turning.  Then I appliqued it to the back of the quilt.  Since it was so large, I also carefully quilted the center hexagon/label to the back of the quilt, being careful not to stitch through to the front.  I think I’m getting the hang of this label thing 🙂  Colors on the right side photo are more accurate.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting, tumbling stars and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tumbling stars label

  1. Okay, now I know what to call myself….”label averse”.
    You came up with a great idea. I just might have to label something now…
    Very nice handquilting, by the way.

  2. Very nice! I don’t mind making labels, I just hate sewing them on.

  3. debmoyes says:

    What’s your aversion to labels? I’ve missed that! They are fun to do and there are so many fun ways to do them. This one was very clever…

  4. Ali says:

    Hurray for you! Awesome label, Carol!

  5. handquiltingrammy says:

    Wonderful job. I can see your hand quilting and your stitches are so nice.

  6. OK–that is not an “adverse” label. That is advanced labeling. Really beautiful and it is an asset to the quilt not an afterthought.

  7. Lynda says:

    I’m sorry to say I don’t often add labels although I know I should. Absolutely love the tesselating chainsaw blocks. Did you have a pattern or did you just work it out on your own?

  8. Lisa says:

    The perfect label for a fabulous quilt! I have only recently in the last couple of years, started putting labels on quilts. It really is a good idea. Time flies and it’s a nice record of your journey.

  9. OH says:

    Love Star of David.

Leave a Reply

