Scrappy bargello donation quilt

When I saw this scrappy bargello by Jane at Sew Create It, I knew I had to make one.  I had been saving 3″ scraps after making and loving my first leader-ender.  It would have been a lot easier to construct this quilt in the true bargello fashion using strips but putting individual pieces on the design wall was fun too.

When I was happy with the arrangement, I took the pieces off the wall one horizontal row at a time.  I pressed the row seams in opposite directions so the column seams would lay flatter.  Since I am donating this as a community service quilt through my guild, I just turned the backing to the front as a binding and machine stitched.  All done (even labeled) for turn-in at our next meeting.  A member of our guild printed this batch of labels so each recipient could put his or her name on their quilt.  The labels iron on but we add some stitches to help them STAY on.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in bargello, community service quilts, leader-ender, quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scrappy bargello donation quilt

  1. I love everything about this quilt – the design, the finishing, the labelling, the charity aspect. What charities does your guild support?

  2. Val says:

    Carol,
    A Super Terrific Hug & Smiles. Love It.

  3. Carol says:

    Wow that’s a lot of work for a quilt you are going to give away – lucky recipient! I love the way it turned out – now you are going to have to make another one for yourself.

  4. debmoyes says:

    Very nice! Speaking of one square at a time – I’d like to do a trip around the world with some wonderful woven fabrics that I got in Bali. I have trouble doing strip sort of quick quilts as I want to arrange the fabrics in a certain way, or add in surprises. Looks like you had fun fooling with the fabrics!

  5. Lisa says:

    Beautiful quilt! Someone will be very lucky to receive it. I would have a hard time parting with it, but you can always make another! Get right on that! hehehe.

  6. Cool! And it gives me an idea for a class I teach – no reason the students can’t do two quilts at once, eh?

  7. ali says:

    I love this! What a generous offering. Someone will be thrilled! Very special.

  8. OH says:

    Gilly, this is similiar to darning socks in WWI. Go girl!

Leave a Reply

