Disaster averted–thanks Grandma

Sometimes my quilting math is not the greatest.  As I was nearing the end of the Buzzsaw, I realized I did not have enough background fabric.  I’ve had the fabric a long time so I didn’t even bother searching for more.  Then I remembered what Grandma used to do (which I always hated)–she sometimes pieced pieces.  I barely had enough to do that but it all worked out and on this busy print, you don’t notice the fix!


You can see I was so squeezed for scraps that two of my 4.5 x 2.5 pieces consist of three separate bits.  I had to use this technique on eight pieces.  Whew!!!

Anyway, like my title says, the disaster was averted by a trick I remembered from Grandma.  So I was able to finish another project.  I’m happy with how it looks on the back too–machine quilted in the ditches.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in machine quilting, quilting, tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Disaster averted–thanks Grandma

  1. Carol says:

    Congratulations on another finish. It looks great! That Buzz Saw pattern is at the top of my machine pieced to do list. Yours turned out beautifully! No one will ever notice the pieced background pieces. Are you keeping it or is it a gift?

  2. Awesome fix! Grandma would be proud.

  3. OH says:

    Are you producing more than a factory?

  4. Piecing pieces? Brilliant! And I LOVE the back of this quilt!

  5. Lisa says:

    I have had to do this at times too. Digging through my scrap bin to find what I thought I didn’t need to finish a block! Grandma would be proud. Fabulous finish! Ox

  6. Oh, yeah, we’ve all been there. It’s bad enough when you have to dig through the scrap bin. I really hate it when I have to dig through the trash bin to find enough leftover bits to piece! The quilt looks great, however, so it was all worth it.

  7. Val says:

    Carol,
    A charming quilt for us to admire.. So resourceful ‘channeling’ Grandma’s ingenuity in making do or do without.
    Does this not remind you of the third or fourth generation quilts that were documented and photographed at last year’s Q D Days.

  8. It looks great! Grandma would be proud.

Leave a Reply

