Tumbling Stars finished

Except for the sleeve and label that is.  But that does not dampen my excitement at quilting the final stitch last Saturday evening.

I had trouble deciding my quilting plan for the border.  My first thoughts called for diamonds strung end to end, then I had a better diamond idea but didn’t think I could get the math right to draw it so I ended up doing a chain with wonky star corners.

Here is the template I made to draw the chain.  It was so much easier than cutting tracks in template plastic or drawing around individual pieces.

For quilting the body, I used three different colors of thread depending on the fabrics in the stars.  I quilted around all the large hexagons in my quilt frame and finished the stars within the hexagons in my lap.  It’s hard to get a good photo but you can at least see the thread colors 🙂

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hand piecing, hand quilting, quilting, tumbling stars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tumbling Stars finished

  1. wayne rhodes says:

    Outstanding in design, execution and result!

  2. Lisa says:

    Just awesome! What an accomplishment and all hand done, my hats off to you. I’m always a little sad when I finish a quilt, happy it’s done, but sad that it’s over. How about you?. Ox

  3. debmoyes says:

    Lovely! I can never figure out how to quilt borders either! And when I get to them I am so anxious to be finished…

  4. Wow. Wow. Wow. This is beautiful.

  5. Carol says:

    Congratulations on the finish. It’s beautiful! I remember seeing it in your sewing room when it was just a small stack of blocks – and you were auditioning some very weird fabrics. Weren’t we referring to it as The Ugly Fabric Quilt? They ended up looking fabulous together. This could be another Quiltfest ribbon winner.

    I love the quilting. The star is a great solution for turning the corners. Can’t wait to see in person.

  6. Nice quilt thread colors! Good for you to give the quilt all the special touches it deserves.

  7. Lynda says:

    Beautiful! What an accomplishment.

  8. Congratulations Carol – it looks great!!

Leave a Reply

