Granny squares

As I was finishing the red, white and blue half hexagons, I discovered granny squares at Quilt Crossing by Auntie Em.  There’s a tutorial at Blue Elephant Stitches and a here’s a link to a Flickr group.  Since I had some extra strips already cut, I decided to try them.  They are really fun–and addictive.  I’m thinking this quilt will be a community service donation.  But I’m already thinking about another more scrappy one!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in charity quilts, granny squares, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Granny squares

  1. debmoyes says:

    Very fun! You know I am addicted to anything like this… And speaking of “real” granny squares, I want to re-learn how to crochet them and make some throws. My mother and grandmother used to make them years ago and we had so much fun picking out colors! Certainly a first cousin to grandmother’s flower garden.

  2. This pattern scares me a bit. Are you setting all those HST’s into each block? I do love the overall effect. You are a patient one, my friend!

  3. Oh, I like this pattern! I’ve got boxes and boxes of squares for community quilts projects – this may be just what they need.

  4. Lisa says:

    They look great! I haven’t tried this block yet, but it’s on my list.

  5. Cute blocks – I like them!

Leave a Reply

