Dogwood finish and another leader-ender

My aunt’s dogwood applique quilt is completed.  I replaced the sashing, squared all the blocks, removed a big stain and basted the sandwich.  My mom hand quilted it.  She quilted around the blocks in her PCV frame then quilted around the dogwoods using a hoop.  I quilted around the centers of the dogwoods because of the multiple fabric layers.  Then I added the binding and mom hem stitched that.  All done and ready to mail back to my aunt after showing it at my next guild meeting.




The original abstract print sashing which I removed from the quilt top was washed, pressed and cut into 3-inch squares to find a new life in my next leader-ender project.  Waste not, want not I say 🙂

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, hand quilting, leader-ender, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dogwood finish and another leader-ender

  1. debmoyes says:

    Gosh – you are thrifty! The fabric looks nice in your new project, but I wouldn’t have given it another life… good for you, seeing it’s potential!

  2. Lani Longshore says:

    That fabric was waiting its whole life just for you to come along and put it where it belongs.

  3. Nice, Carol! You honored the spirit of the original quilt!

  4. Carol says:

    Love that picture of your mom – that’s a nice spot for sewing – great natural light over her shoulder.

    Your aunt is going to be thrilled with the transformation of her quilt. I hope you have a nice detailed label so future generations will know the interesting history.

    The abstract sashing print looks 100% better cut into squares.

    You are really on a roll. So many finishes in the first few months of 2012!

  5. piecedgoods says:

    Lucky aunt! Beautiful restoration!

  6. OH says:

    You two are amazing. One lucky auntie.

  7. Val says:

    such great team work with you and your Mom.
    please let us know about your aunt’s comments.

  8. Lovely. It turned out to be a very effective rescue.

  9. Lisa says:

    Wow! That looks great. And you recycled the other fabric too, fabulous!

  10. liz says:

    Truly in the spirit of early patchworkers. Nice effort on your aunt’s quilt. I hope she follows your blog, or at least the story of her quilt on your blog!

Leave a Reply

