Saving a flawed design

This is the project I was working on when I decided to also start my leader-ender.  I had seen a Missouri Star Quilt Co video about braid quilts using a half-hexagon template and I had some fabric I thought would work with that idea so I cut some 2.5″ strips, made my own template and off I went.  Of course I had to cut enough to see what it was going to look like.




My idea was to have the darkest braid in the middle of the quilt and get lighter toward the edges.  But I hated the blue and yellow with the print.  So I tried the blue, green and yellow solids together and didn’t like that either.  I just couldn’t think of any way to salvage this ugly design idea.  Until I had one of those light bulb moments.  The logical thing to make with half-hexagons is whole hexagons, right?  Much better, at least to my eye.  Now back to the cutting mat for more strips.  Maybe I’ll try a braid again someday but if I do,  I’ll be sure to cut wider strips 🙂

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in hexagons, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saving a flawed design

  1. ali says:

    Good save! The braids looked “okay,” but the hexes look great–really vibrant!

  2. Lani Longshore says:

    I liked the braids, but I agree the hexegons are fabulous – good for you to soldier on to the best solution!

  3. Val says:

    Terrific, great save. Do appreciate the info on wider cut strips.

  4. Carol Skinner says:

    You’re right – not that great. Hexes much better. I think the braid strips need to be wider as you mentioned and scrappy like the one in the Missouri Star Quilt Co. Video. Wonder what it looks like without the sashing strips – with the braids touching? Did you try that?

Leave a Reply

