My first leader-ender project

I was familiar with Bonnie Hunter’s leader-ender method of sewing scrap pieces together at the ends of stitching lines instead of repeatedly using a little fabric patch that becomes a thread bunny.  But I never had a big desire to try it.  Then I found myself with a lot of green, pink and orange scraps so I thought why not.  It’s like a free quilt which you sneak in between seams on your REAL projects (main project patch on right–more about that later). 
At the beginning of this post are my random 2-patches.  As I added more to my design wall, I started to see a plan.  I would use two of the big paisley squares in the middle of my “blocks” and use the same fabric for sashing.  It’s a very busy quilt but quite happy I think.  I’m considering an additional border.  And I can’t wait to try another one of these!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in leader-ender, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My first leader-ender project

  1. Ah… Nice explanation of the leader-ender method. I heard some talking about this at a retreat but never asked. Sneaking in a project? Very clever…

  2. Lani Longshore says:

    Wow – I love the paisley! I may just have to give this a shot myself.

  3. rutheh says:

    Looks like a lot of creative fun!
    Nice

  4. debmoyes says:

    Nice……I like this idea! Your fabrics are happy looking, particularly that green. Yummy!

  5. It looks great! Ah, the joy of scraps.

  6. liz says:

    Great use of fabric scraps. I like the idea of having some order in the apparent random nature of your quilt. Works well, looks terrific.

  7. piecedgoods says:

    What a fun idea! A bonus quilt top!
    Also I’d never heard the term ‘thread bunny’ which I like a lot better than the mess I call a hairball.

  8. Auntie Em says:

    There is nothing better than a free quilt! Great use of scraps.

Leave a Reply

