First new 2012 project

I made myself a New Year’s promise that I would not start another project until I got a few things completed.  A hard promise to keep but motivating 🙂  My first finish was Pat’s quilt.  Next a seemingly small task but always one I avoid–the label for my Kaleidoscope quilt which I plan to enter in this year’s QuiltFest.  I was pleased with the result.




Third, the scrap stars beach blanket is done.  It is not a masterpiece and barely seems a quilt but it fits the technical definition.  Because it was all just an experiment (fusing scrap diamonds on some canvas-like fabric), I was free to try different things without them needing to be anywhere close to perfection.  The top layer was already quite heavy and I was going to back it with the same fabric so instead of batting, I used a piece of decorator fabric I had no other use for and machine quilted in the ditch around the blocks.  Next I wanted to try attaching the binding totally by machine.  I started basting it that way but midway around, decided finishing by hand would look better.  This proved rather tricky with the heavy fabrics and no batting so I eventually went back to the machine experiment.  The binding is done using two different methods–something I would NEVER do on a real quilt.  Talk about an unchained feeling!  Then, I needed to add some “quilting” in the middle of the blocks to hold things together.  Since I am not a free motion quilter yet, I experimented with some different programmed machine stitches and finally came up with one I liked.  The heavy layers did not want to feed through my machine but at this point, I was loving the wonkiness of this project.  I absolutely love my imperfect pink star “quilting.”  I may eventually try one more quilting technique which I have sketched in washable graphite but for now I’m calling this a finish.




Finally, the Wandering Stars quilt I was working on when I first started this blog over a year ago.  I had machine quilted the blocks and was adding some hand quilting that was more ripping out than adding.  Nothing was pleasing me so I put it away.  Now although it’s not quite completed, I finished the border, was able to add the binding and have a workable plan for the interior.



That satisfied my resolution enough that in good conscience I could play with something new.  And here is the beginning!  Of course, more on this later.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting, quilting experiments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First new 2012 project

  1. piecedgoods says:

    How great to finish things off! I am out of control on my unfinished projects. I need to commit to finish stuff too and your post is motivation to at least get going on something. It’s so hard – so many new great fabric and color ideas, so little time!

  2. Lani Longshore says:

    Congratulations! I like your pink star quilting, too. It’s fancier than tacking and is what the material could accommodate. I’m really looking forward to your new purple quilt.

  3. Carol says:

    I have so many projects started and I can’t keep myself from starting more – I love picking out the fabrics – it’s my favorite part of quilting. I really need to be a quilt designer – I will pick the pattern and the fabrics and somebody else will sew them together 🙂 Then I might be able to get all of the quilts on my to do list done!

    I am impressed by your finishes – congratulations!

  4. debmoyes says:

    Wowee- – – impressive showing of work here! I’m not sure I have a finish this year. Still poking along with the Fallert feathers quilt and it isn’t that big! Atta girl!

Leave a Reply

