Dogwoods ready for quilting

One more snag in the quilt fixing saga.  I had wanted to back it with the sashing fabric but there was not enough on the bolt.  So I bought some 90″ bleached muslin.  Unfortunately after I washed it, it was a couple of inches too short for the quilt top.  Rather than buy more, I pieced a 13″ strip of the rosebud fabric onto one end of the muslin back.  Here’s the quilt sandwich on my basting surface getting ready for my mom to hand quilt.  When I took it to her, we spread it out on her bed for a photo before she put it in her quilt frame.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, family and friends, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dogwoods ready for quilting

  1. Very pretty. And I know it will be an heirloom quilt being hand quilted. I really like the work you did on this.

  2. debmoyes says:

    Wow! That looks great. You did a super job. I have a love/hate relationship with backings! Recently I bought an extra wide fabric so I wouldn’t have to seam it but I didn’t buy enough, even before washing! And I usually don’y buy enough anyway, so I always end up doing some sort of piecing. I like pieced backings but usually don’t have the patience (I want to get quilting!) to do anything great.

  3. Lani Longshore says:

    The quilt sandwich looks wonderful on the bed with just the basting stitches – it’s going to be magnificent when it is done. I rarely estimate my backs properly, so I’m always adding a strip here or there. Our community quilts chair started using random fat quarters to piece backs, and she discovered that it worked really well. If the top has a green border, for instance, a back made from a collection of greens will look like it was planned from the beginning. I’ve started using that for my quilts with good success.

  4. liz says:

    What an epic story this quilt has. I hope your aunt understands what went into its creation. Fantastic your Mom will now be doing the quilting; a real family quilt!

  5. What a great save! Do show us the finish when it is ready, please.

Leave a Reply

