Quilt fixing part 2

Seam ripping is completed.  Now to attack that nasty stain (see previous post)–another task which is not my forte.  I conservatively tried soaking in Woolite first.  Not the least bit of change.  So I got out the chlorine bleach, put some on a q-tip and dabbed the part behind the white dogwood petals.  The bleach removed the stain without harming the pink background.  Next I tried this method in the seam allowance and all was still well.  I then went to work attacking all of it but I guess I got a little too aggressive with my q-tip and the pink did start to fade a bit.  Luckily I was in the bathroom and was able to plunge the square into a basin of water before it became too noticeable.

After washing and pressing all the squares, I started trimming them into neat squares.  So glad I did.  Look at what I started with and the pile of trimmings after I was done!




Next, sewing the new sashing (right photo).  IMHO it’s a definite improvement!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, family and friends, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quilt fixing part 2

  1. debmoyes says:

    Very long story, but I had (batik) staining on a quilt. I had been washing it so I kept it wet while I figured out what to do. I had seen a MSL segment on getting stains out… Fels Naptha was one thing recommended and I can’t remember if I tried it. When I was little we kept a bar of that under the sink for poison ivy! I ended up soaking it in an Oxyclean sort of product and it did work. It did fade the backing fabric a lot…but that was the trade-off for getting some very bright pink circular stains off of the front. You’re going to turn into a quilt restorer if you don’t watch out!

  2. Carol says:

    Definitely better. Can’t believe that pile of trimmings. It wasn’t very square was it? Here in the tropics a favorite way to get stains out of white fabric is dampen with lime juice, rub with salt and put it in the sun.

  3. Lisa says:

    It looks oh so much better! I salute your patience and perseverance! Great job.

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    I hope you celebrated when the ripping was done! All that re-squaring should make the top much easier to quilt.

  5. It is coming along nicely!

  6. liz says:

    You must have wondered how big a job it was before you started, but your patience has won out.
    Well done.

  7. That’s looking SO much better with that new sashing. Well done you!

Leave a Reply

