Frugalina–who me?

I hate waste, always have.  Hence one of my many nicknames–Frugalina.  Sometimes I think it is a curse.  I save too many things (translate clutter) or make myself crazy trying to use things up.  Add this to the fact that I always over cut, especially on my scrappy quilts and Houston, we have a problem.  My last two hand pieced quilts were made from 3″ diamonds.  I had so many left over I decided to try something I had never done before–fusing.  I had some heavy fabric someone had given me so I decided to make a little quiltlet to take to the beach–no pressure to be perfect.  72 scrap diamonds used!  I tried putting fuzzy black yarn around the outline but it was too much so I just used a zig zag stitch to secure the fused pieces.    The top is finished but I am rethinking the backing (also given to me) that I had planned.  It just doesn’t work.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Frugalina–who me?

  1. ali says:

    Carol, this is a sweet little quilt. The colors are great–very beachy!

  2. Lisa says:

    I love a fun quick project that uses uo the scraps! I think we all tend to save stuff in hopes it will be used sometime. We just have to make sure we use faster than we save! Hahaha. I haven’t mastered that yet.

  3. Carol says:

    How cute! And all from scraps. I am the exact opppsite. I have half a shoe box size container with a few batik and Kaffe scraps. I give everything away – sometimes I regret it – but not often.

  4. liz says:

    Frugalina, great name! Supposedly that is what patchwork used to be all about; now it is a billion dollar “industry”. I think your use of scraps worked out well.

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    Frugalina – there’s a quilt in that name (either that or a really cool muffin made from left-over fruit). The scrap star quilt is wonderful!

  6. Great use of scraps! Frugalina is a wonderful, cheerful name. I wish it were mine.

  7. debmoyes says:

    The backing is a definite no! Even though I like to have something fun and wild on the back, that has no relation to the front. It’s pretty though. Perhaps you could try more dyeing? Next week is going to be dye week for me, both wool and cotton. I have a shibori class next Friday and some wool I need to do for my hooking group. And I am sure I “need” to do some dyeing for me too.

  8. ali says:

    You have such a way with color combinations–I just had to come by again and look at the way you combined the greens and browns with oranges and yellows. Stunning little stars!

Leave a Reply

