Quilt fixing and first 2012 finish

I have not had a lot of experience completing or fixing someone else’s work.  But on a recent trip with my mom to visit her younger sister, my aunt asked me to redo some applique blocks their older sister (now passed away) had stitched.  She did not like the sashing and wanted it replaced with something “better.”  On further investigation, we also discovered one block was prominently stained.




The first order of business was to find a more appropriate sashing fabric.  I had hoped I could use something from my stash but of course that was not the case.  My quilty friend/consultant Carol and I settled on the white with pink/green rosebuds.  The white background was a nice mate for the white dogwood flowers.  This was an audition of a new purchase so now I had to buy more.  I actually wanted to use it as backing too but there was not enough left on the bolt.  I considered yellow cornerstones but nixed that idea.

Next, the least fun part of quilting–seam ripping.  This is proving to be a monumental job which is going to require several evenings!

On a cheerier note, Pat’s quilt is completed.  I used the precut strips included in my giveaway win for the binding.  Unfortunately the cuts were not on the straight of grain so the rather dominant pattern shifted as it went around the quilt.  Another binding lesson learned.  But I had used the strip fabric as cornerstones and wanted the balance of having them in another element.  Actually because most of the fabrics are so busy, I think everything turned out OK in the end.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Quilt fixing and first 2012 finish

  1. Barb says:

    What an honor to work on your aunt’s quilt, it is going to be soooo lovely when you get it done.

  2. I do not envy you all that picking out, but the blocks are really nice. Your sashing choice should make them stand out more.

  3. debmoyes says:

    Wow- you are a very nice niece….I’m not sure that I would have agreed to do that project! It’s like re-doing a house; you can find all sorts of problems as you go. The new fabric is very pretty; much improved over that mushy swirl. Hooray for a finish!

  4. piecedgoods says:

    What a lucky aunt you have! I’ve always liked dogwoods too!

  5. Lisa says:

    Oh my! Your seam ripper is going to be your new best friend. I guess a good job for sitting infront of the telly. It will be so much prettier when you have finished!

  6. liz says:

    That is very generous of you to attend to the quilt. I think replacing the sashing is a good idea, despite all that work. The applique blocks look lovely. Did you mention how many there are?

    Congratulations on your first 2012 finish. I think it looks great, including the backing.

  7. rutheh says:

    And it is only the end of January. Going to be a productive year. Very nice.

  8. Lani Longshore says:

    This is why there people find unfinished tops in odd corners! I certainly don’t have the perserverance to rip out all those seams!

  9. ali says:

    This is a labor of love, and the quilt is sure to be cherished for a long, long time. You are awesome!

  10. Lynne W says:

    How brave you are. Those blocks are so pretty and deserve a re-vamp. I actually love that original sashing fabric though, want to send it my way? Lol

Leave a Reply

