Binding love

Well, maybe not love exactly but after watching this youtube video that Jenny sent me in response to a recent whine, I have a whole new attitude about binding.  Besides the fabulous method for joining the ends of continuous folded binding, I have also changed two other steps after watching this video.  I used to trim my strip ends at 45 degrees before joining.  Now I sew them BEFORE trimming.   This avoids having to position the dog ears perfectly as I just sew between inside corners  And I have always pressed my binding in half but it makes so much sense not to press as the top and bottom fabrics are not equal when you fold it over in the final step.  The unpressed binding folds more easily and naturally.  Something else I have never read but always do is audition my binding position all around the quilt before beginning to sew it to the quilt.  This way a bulky 45 degree seam in the binding does not fall on a mitered corner.  In case you don’t have time to watch the video, here are a few illustrations of the final join on a tiny quilt sandwich (I am not using folded binding in this example).  Pinch binding (right sides together) to fit quilt and pin through two threads at the seam allowance, turn pieces to lay flat with pin still in place (this is a great way to avoid twisting), secure with another pin, then stitch.  The video says it really doesn’t have to be a 45 degree seam but old habits die hard 🙂  Of course, check the fit before trimming!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilting, tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Binding love

  1. jennyklyon says:

    The photos are excellent to refresh my memory-I already forgot exactly how to do the part you illustrate in the middle photo!

  2. Very interesting! I had never considered not pressing first. Next quilt ready to bind I will watch this again and try it out.

  3. Lisa says:

    I have just recently started doing my bindings this way. Great to have a refresher video to watch! Thanks for the link. When do we get to see the big finish?

  4. liz says:

    Thanks for sharing. It’s nice to see the different ways for making a binding. I know plenty of people who can’t finish their quilts because of this awkward little step.

    If you make 45 degree joins everywhere else in the binding, you would have to follow at the last step. I make 45 degree joins to distribute the seam allowance. Otherwise the seam allowance would be very bulky at one point.

  5. Lani Longshore says:

    Binding is one of my least favorite things to do. I started using lace ribbon for my smaller pieces just because I was tired of trying to make perfect mitered corners!

  6. ali says:

    This video is a treasure–thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

