Becky Goldsmith class

Earlier this week, I had the privilege of attending an all-day Becky Goldsmith (Piece O’ Cake Designs) applique class sponsored by my guild.  If you ever get the chance to take one of her classes, DO IT!  Becky is a wonderful teacher, sharing her 20+ years of experience clearly and concisely and providing encouraging feedback on student efforts.  She used a video camera positioned upside down (as we were quick to point out) so that her hands would be projected as if we were looking down at ours.




Only having done one applique border, I am still quite a novice at this technique.  I had never used a vinyl overlay before for positioning pieces.  And I had hopefully not developed an unalterable habit of holding my needle sideways as I do in hand piecing.  Becky showed us how she holds her needle with the very tip of her index finger to get total control of inserting the needle straight down beside the applique piece.  Below left my guild mate Kathy demonstrates.  On the right are front and back photos of my leaf.  I was amazed at my own tiny stitches just from holding my needle differently.




Here is the block (Becky’s) we were working on (a 12″ version of Piece O’ Cake’s original design–Passion Flowers – Block #4) and on the right, how much–or little–I got done (shown with vinyl overlay.)  All students were commenting that our spouses would not believe we spent 6 hours doing THIS.

Check out Becky’s Passion Flowers quilt which we all got to see in person.  I was noting the small stitches when someone behind me asked “What stitches?”  Truly they are practically invisible!  Becky also does her own machine quilting and I just had to share a few close-ups of her custom work.




Lastly, another guild buddy Sandy using her extra eyes for needle threading.  Don’t you love her red pieced border?  She got inspired after seeing the quilt at our guild meeting the day before the class!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in applique, quilting, seminars and classes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Becky Goldsmith class

  1. Carol says:

    What fun – oh how I wish I could have been there. PLEASE let me know if Becky comes back to Jacksonville. I swear I will get on a plane and fly up!!

    Hummmm… I am going to check out their website – maybe they have a DVD of their techniques.

    I hope you are going to finish your block – it’s a beauty!

  2. jennyklyon says:

    Oh lucky you! This looks so good it makes even me want to applique. Your class work is beautiful-all 6 hrs of it!!

  3. debmoyes says:

    I love Po’C patterns and fabric and designs! And I am a big fan of Becky’s blog. She rarely talks about quilting (secrets!) but she is an interesting person. I took a workshop with both Becky and Linda ages ago. It was a large group, but I still enjoyed seeing them and hearing how they make such amazing quilts. Getting started on a new hand appliqué quilt is on my to do list this year. Have fun!!!

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh how fun! Those colors and patterns are wonderful. Nothing like a day of creativity with so many great minds!

  5. liz says:

    What a great post. Your applique looks immaculate, so even though it took a while, the new technique seems worth it. Of course you will speed up over time. I was lucky enough to hear Becky address a few women a little while ago. It was inspirational.

  6. Becky Goldsmith does teach an amazing workshop on applique.Last July she did the Whirlygig workshop for my Guild, Stitching Memories Quilt Guild, in Duncan, Ok. I used a bright yellow background with buzzing bees and lots of bright colors. She is a very thorough teacher and the use of the overhead camera gives everyone a bird’s eye view. I just completed my Whirlygig with 4 days of quilting and binding. You can see it on my blog:
    colleensquiltingjourneytooz@blogspot.com
    Needleturn applique especially cutaway are now my passion, thanks to Becky. Please post your progress!
    Colleen

  7. piecedgoods says:

    I’m jealous that you got to do this class! I love your pictures and this post! Your appliqué looks wonderful.

  8. Tsews says:

    I have taken 2 classes from Becky. Loved both of them.

  9. Ann Marie says:

    Your applique looks great! I’m very impressed by your leaf. Totally worth the 6 hours. My friend went to a Piece o’ Cake class and raved about their technique too. I’m going to have to find a way into one of their classes.

  10. Lani Longshore says:

    Wow – wonderful applique! This is a timely post for me as I just pulled out some fabrics for a small applique project. I’ll try holding my needle different and see if my stitches will improve.

  11. Steve Goldsmith says:

    Having watched Becky’s development as an artist and a professional for over 20 years (more like 36 to be exact) I am still astonished by the diversity and creativity of her contributions to the quilting world. She is obviously very capable of sharing that diversity and creativity with those who take her classes. Thanks to all for your supportive comments. I am sure Becky will be back in Florida before long.

  12. I was lucky enough to get to New Zealand a few years ago and took a couple of classes with Becky there. She’s the most generous of teachers and I loved every minute of the classes. Glad you have such a good time too! There’ll be applique abounding…….!

  13. barb says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this, truly inspirational…love her quilt…

Leave a Reply

