Pat’s lap quilt

Back in the summer, my blogging friend Ali did several giveaways.  She sent me a lovely pile of Amy Butler 10-inch squares, 2.5-inch strips and a very generous amount of yardage.  I was thinking about adding some of my Kona solids and making a Disappearing 9 Patch but finally decided to use the gorgeous fabrics as whole blocks with my solids as sashing.  The top and the pieced back are completed.  Now I have to zigzag some batting together and then on to the quilting.  My first 2012 finish is in sight!  I’m thinking the colors would look nice on my friend Pat’s sofa.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in Amy Butler fabrics, family and friends, machine quilting, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pat’s lap quilt

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Good thought keeping those fabulous prints unpieced-I like the tile effect. First 2012 finish in sight?? Show off!

  2. Carol says:

    Good grief Carol – you’ve almost finished a 2012 quilt and it’s only the 8th of January! Show off indeed 🙂

    I like it – a good choice for pretty prints you just don’t want to cut into itty bitty pieces.

    Pat will love it!

  3. Lynda says:

    Such beautiful fabrics and just the right setting to show them off. Nice way to start the New Year!

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    Lovely! And it just occurred to me – maybe we should have a first quilt of the year challenge? Think of the Quilting New Year’s Eve Party we could have!

  5. debmoyes says:

    Very nice! You go girl!

  6. Love the colors! So nice to already be finishing things this year!

  7. rutheh says:

    Good to see your lovely work. Pretty colors. Just beautiful.
    Wishing you a good 2012. Best, Ruth
    Check out my new blog when you get a chance,
    http://cardboardmetravels.com

  8. Lisa says:

    Great colors! Finishing a project already? Hahaha. I’ll be lucky to have a finish by Valentine’s Day! Great happiness to you on 2012. oxox

  9. Soothing, lovely colors. A nice way to showcase the large prints.

  10. liz says:

    I’m so glad you didn’t cut those prints up. It is such a delightful quilt and so well thought out. The border is perfect. Of course, coming from you.

    Of to a blistering start. How can we hope to keep up with you?

  11. ali says:

    Terrific–I love what you’ve done with this! Lucky Pat!

Leave a Reply

