Using my thinking cap

The Mourning Jules tumbler quilt will have irregular side edges when the piecing is finished.  I was thinking of adding half tumblers.  But yesterday I had a better idea–trim the edge tumblers.  I had only sewn three rows together so that meant I only had to rip out about three inches in two places.  Hand stitching is not as strong as machine stitching so trimming through the seam after the sewing is finished would create points of failure later.  I love it when I have a good idea on the front end of a project.  I fixed one of the places last night and will do the other one tonight.  Going forward the edge tumblers will be trimmed before the rows are stitched together.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in grief quilt, hand piecing, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Using my thinking cap

  1. liz says:

    I am glad you didn’t decide to have an irregular edge to the quilt. It will look good the way you are making it. What size will it be when you finish?

  2. Lynda Brown says:

    It’s going to be a beautiful tribute to Jules and help with the healing process.

  3. You are wise to be able to look ahead and see that a little work now will save unhappiness later. The value contrast is working out really well so far.

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    Hurrah for brilliant and timely ideas!

  5. debmoyes says:

    Well aren’t you Miss Clever, thinking ahead??? I whack off the irregular edges on my GFG quilts as well. I’m not that crazy that I want to bind all those nasty bits!
    ;-D

  6. Lisa says:

    I never seem to be able to have those great thoughts at the beginning of a project! I am usually, ripping out or trying to figure out how to make do. Kudos to you for the upfront foresight! Can’t wait to see the finished piece. So lovely. oxoxo

  7. ali says:

    I learn so much from you, Carol. Your thoughtful planning and attention to all the details (emphasis on “all”!) are habits I hope to acquire some day. You’ve inspired me to to consider hand-piecing a large quilt. Your work is lovely, and I’m honored to watch the process. I can almost feel the warmth, comfort, and memories embedded in every stitch.

Leave a Reply

