Mourning Jules quilt

After losing Jules, I also lost most of my enthusiasm for quilting.  I really wanted to make a quilt about grieving and recovering but I didn’t have a clear idea of what that would look like.  So as I tackled other necessary tasks, I waited for inspiration.  At QuiltFest Jacksonville, I bought a tumbler template from QuiltSmith with a vague idea of non-linear color progression across the quilt.  I pulled some somber fabrics from my stash but they sat on my table–silent.  In Houston, I bought a few more fabrics and when I got home I started playing with the design page which came with the the tumbler template.

I had thought about mostly somber colors with little islands and spikes of yellow.  But when I started playing with the fabrics, that did not appeal to me.  So I cut a few tumblers just to see if I thought I would like hand piecing them.




It was easy sewing and a simple pressing plan so I was at least sold on a tumbler quilt.  On the design sheet, I figured out how to “write” Jules’ initials.  Then I tried to design “I LOVE YOU” but I didn’t like how that looked so I tried to design a heart.  I’m still playing with all the surrounding tumblers, but am pretty settled on the initials and the heart.  I can already feel the healing.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in grief quilt, hand piecing, hand quilting, quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mourning Jules quilt

  1. I’m such a believer in quilting as a way to grieve AND as a way to honor someone we walked through life with. Grieving through each soothing stitch? Good. Good for you.

  2. Lisa says:

    So nice. Anything that gives you comfort will help you heal, and you know I’m a bigg believer in quilting as the low-cal comfort food! These are coming along so well. I would never have thought to make the initials or the heart, very nice touch. Keep sewing! One day at a time. oxoxox

  3. rutheh says:

    Thinking of you and sending love to you.
    Touching project and story.
    You must miss him terribly
    Xxooxx. Stitch on

  4. jennyklyon says:

    I’m touched by your post-I hope you find great healing in the process. Thank you for sharing this.

  5. OH says:

    Gilly, this is a beautiful idea and I know Jules would be cheering you on.
    Love,
    O

  6. Lani Longshore says:

    Making a grief quilt is akin to journaling. I hope by the time the last stitch goes in you carry only the best memories in your heart.

  7. liz says:

    I think this quilt is such a good idea. I know it will always be special to you because of the time it was made and the motifs you have included. I hope you are also thinking about what you put on the label. It is such a good way to keep Jules’ memory alive.

  8. debmoyes says:

    It’s a very good start. I’m glad that you are thinking about quilting and planning ahead….

  9. I look forward to seeing the project progress. Thank you for sharing this very personal part of your life.

  10. Lynda says:

    A lovely way to remember a loved one. I know that lots of love is being stitched into this quilt.

Leave a Reply

