My IQF Houston classes


Before it gets lost in my head, I need to tell you about the classes I chose at the Houston show.  First let me tell you I found the supply lists somewhat overwhelming and because I prefer to travel with carry-on luggage only, I nixed several of the classes (particularly about dyeing and curved piecing) that I was actually interested in.  But wanting to explore things outside my comfort zone, I still found plenty to enlighten me.  I attended several lectures, watched the movie “Stitched,” signed up for both sampler classes which had about 30 teachers doing demos/mini-lectures in a large room and took one half-day class.




My half day class was Silk and Punchneedle taught by Masako and Emi Wakayama from Japan.  I did not finish my sampler and we did not get to keep the rather expensive punchneedles so this is destined for the UFO bin for a while I’m afraid.  There were two large quilts with punchneedle embellishment (using cotton thread) displayed in the class.  One quilt had quite a few printed words using the wrong side of the work.  I found it a much cleaner look than regular embroidery.  It would take some practice getting a nice even stitch on the back side though.  The front with the loops showing is much more forgiving!

My favorites from the Friday Sampler were Kristal Wick’s Foils and Bleach Fun on Fabric, Martie A. Winkelman’s Shi-Sha Mirror Embellishment (sadly, failed to get photos) and Susan Purney Mark’s Shifting Gears–Give & Take Applique in which she fused positive and negative sections of a dark fabric onto two light squares for an interesting effect.

Favorites on Saturday were Karen Kay Buckley’s Making Perfect Circles, Perfect Points & Perfect Stems, Marlene Glickmans’s Shibori Bound–Itajime (folded & clamped with sticks), J.B. Scharf’s Let’s Use Silk in Our Quilts!, Kathy Kansier’s Beading Basics and Nancy Eha’s Crazy Beading.  The first photo is Kathy’s work; the second two are Nancy’s.  The last photo is on the cover of Nancy’s book Bead Creative Art Quilts.




I hope you can see from all the quilt and class photos, this quilt show is an incredible experience.  But I have to say the most spectacular part of the four days for me was meeting blog friends in person–one who came all the way from Australia!

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilt shows, quilting, seminars and classes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My IQF Houston classes

  1. jennyklyon says:

    I think I’m going to Houston next year and I wondered about taking classes-the trade off between spending time at vendors and looking at the quilts vs taking classes. Your experience looks like it’d definitely worth taking classes-thanks for sharing that.

  2. Lani Longshore says:

    Wow – what a wonderful collection of creativity! Looking forward to seeing the finished projects (no matter how long they stay UFOs).

  3. Liz says:

    I am glad you managed to cram so much into your 4 days at Houston. Lots of variety and interest. It sounds like you would do it again. I sure would.

  4. Lisa says:

    Great colors! Glad you had such a fun time, and meeting bloggers too! I think I might need to get Houston on my schedule next year.

  5. onitta hagerman says:

    Looks like a great experience.

  6. Wow – looks like you had a great time Carol. So good to try new techniques, isn’t it? Looking forward to more photos as you play with your class pieces more. Did you find any time to shop??!!

  7. It looks like you had a great time. I’d love to go, and definitely have it on my bucket list – hopefully more than once.

  8. debmoyes says:

    The sampler classes sound like they had lots of good info! Those perfect circles are great, aren’t they? She taught me how to do those many moons ago in her first Baltimore Album class. And I still like to use coins for the templates.

  9. ali says:

    Wow–what a great glimpse into classes at the HQF! Thanks for the info and pics, Carol!

Leave a Reply

