International Quilt Festival part 1

I’m overwhelmed.  Sort of like the feeling I got when I saw the Grand Canyon in person for the first time.  Pictures don’t convey the feeling.  There is much to tell but I will start with my favorite category and a big reason I wanted to attend this show–Handmade.  The only machine stitching allowed in this category is the first step in attaching the binding.  Of the 19 quilts displayed in this category, 15 of the quilters were Japanese.  I did not have a very good system for getting the proper credits with each quilt so I am only showing the few I know to be correct.  This quilt had 12,256 hexagons, some of which had circles appliqued on them.  The back (appliqued and embroidered in a woven triangular pattern) was also exquisite but I did not get a photo.  It is by Cheryl See of Ashburn, VA.

This quilt’s hexagons were even smaller so I can’t even guess at the total number of pieces.  It is by Isako Wada of Japan.

I love the shimmering colors in this quilt by Judith Thompson of Wenonah, NJ.

And I could meditate for hours on this quilt by Akemi Sugiyama of Japan.

Sadly, this quilt by Kyoko Yamauchi of Japan is the only one in this group of which I got a close up.  I love the lacy reverse applique in combination with the regular hand applique.




Now I need to organize my thoughts and photos from the classes I took.  Please stay tuned for post #2.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilt shows, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to International Quilt Festival part 1

  1. ali says:

    Carol, thanks so much for these photos and your insights! I’m in Tokyo now, and heading to the Yokohama International Quilt Festival in a couple days–seeing these amazing quilts, I’m even more eager to see the show. I’m eager to hear about your classes, too!

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow! Those are “big girl” quilts! I can’t imagine the time and work that went into those. Amazing. Can’t wait to see the rest of the goodies you photographed.

  3. debmoyes says:

    Ahhhhh yes, but you’re the early bird! ;-D
    Fun to see what you enjoyed at the show. You too can do those tiny hexes. The US ones are English paper pieced I’m sure, though I wouldn’t swear to the Japanese ones. I love doing them; I guess I should keep going….

  4. jennyklyon says:

    Loved your photos-thank you for sharing. Amazing hand work-how do they do that? I am looking forward to your next posts of IQF-Houston.

  5. Val says:

    Carol,
    Thanks ever so much for these images. will be eagerly awaiting your next insights. sounds like an amazing Q F.

  6. Liz says:

    What glorious quilts you saw. It is revealing to see what attracted your eye. Perhaps there is a quilt like those in your post in your future?

  7. Lani Longshore says:

    These are fabulous – I’ve gone back to your blog to savor them several times!

Leave a Reply

