23rd Stephen Foster Quilt Show and Sale

Last weekend I attended a regional quilt show in White Springs, Florida with 10 other quilters from my guild.  I had been once before because they have a Hand pieced/Hand quilted category.  I was happy to see the Best of Show was picked from this category–made by Jill Allen and named Marie Webster’s French Baskets with Trapunto.  If you are into hexagons and Grandmother’s Flower Garden quilts, check out the quilt on the right also.

Carpenter’s Wheel by Floye Luke was another favorite of mine–also hand pieced and hand quilted and it also received a ribbon.

My favorite in the Large/Medium Applique category was Osceola Clearing by Ann Opgenorth.  I was shocked that this quilt did not win a ribbon.  I wish I had taken a close-up of at least one of the wonderful blue bears.

After viewing the show, we had a buffet lunch at the Telford Hotel.  I had not eaten fried chicken in forever.  Theirs was divine!  And of course we had to sample all 6 desserts.




We still had time to stop at a nearby quilt shop–Fabric Art Shop–in Lake City before returning to Jacksonville.  That made the day just about perfect in my book.

About quiltfever

I retired in 2004 and have never missed the 8-5 grind even for a minute. Now I spend my time reading, traveling, quilting and trying to learn new things like Spanish and blogging.
This entry was posted in quilt shows, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 23rd Stephen Foster Quilt Show and Sale

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Wow-the winner is beautiful and so rare these days with hand quilting. And what’s with no ribbon for the blue bears?? Looks like that would be juried into Houston or Paducah from what I see in the photo-go figure!

  2. Lisa says:

    Oh I love that Carpenter’s Wheel too! Those are my kind of colors. What a wonderful day, fabric, friends and food, just perfect!

  3. debmoyes says:

    It does sound like the best sort of day. I hope you will have some more fun next week! Looking forward to meeting you!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Lani Longshore says:

    Love the bear quilt! All of them were terrific, of course, but seriously – blue bears? Way cool!

  5. liz says:

    The Carpenters Wheel is a favourite of mine too. You don’t see many hand quilted quilts any more sadly, but this one is lovely. Fried chicken and six desserts, hmmm. Sounds like you were feeling very relaxed.

Leave a Reply

